TAW: Coming Home!


Howdy, everyfairy!

Welcome to:

The Fluffy Fairy:

(Continued!)

Cottonfluff’s POV

I lead the new fairy to her home.

All caterpillar-shearing talents live in Caterpillar Corral, which is a peculiar sort of place.

Caterpillar Corral is in a circular shape, something the Clumsies call a “round-a-bout”. All of our houses line the circle. In the center of the circle are the woolly caterpillars we herd and shear.

Her house is right next to mine. It’s been empty for many years, so she’s going to have to have it cleaned up before she moves in.

For now, while the cleaning-talents are getting it ready, she’ll have to stay with me.

Fortunately, I’ve got multiple empty bedrooms.

I guess we caterpillar-shearers don’t entertain much.

I’m just finishing unpacking her new clothes when she walks into her temporary room.

Her eyes take in the dusty room, the measly wardrobe, and the small bed.

Turning to me, she smiles widely.

“Thank you for having me. I hope it’s not too much trouble!” She says brightly.

I shake my head.

“No, of course not. Besides, it’s only until your new home is cleaned.”

I awkwardly brush my dusty hands against my dull grey trousers.

“I put your new outfits in the wardrobe. We didn’t know what you liked, so we grabbed a bit of everything.”

She walks over to the wardrobe and opens the door, which creaks loudly.

She purveys the different colours and styles that are crammed into it.

Turning back to me, her eyes widening comically, she asks, “Did you buy all these things for me?”

I shift, and stare at my feet.

“The other shearers and I pooled together our ingredients. Like I said, we weren’t sure what clothes you’d like, so it’s a little….crazy.”

She walks closer, and hugs me tightly. Surprised, I pat her back awkwardly.

“Thank you, thank you very much!”

As soon as I’m free from her tight grip, I walk to the door.

Blowing out the candle, I hear a soft “Goodnight, Cottonfluff” from the now dark room.

Sighing, I reply.

“Goodnight….”

2 thoughts on “TAW: Coming Home!

Let me know what you think!

