Side Story 6 – Part 1


Hello, everyone!

I’m trying to stick to my promise of one side story a month, so here I am!

Sarah’s POV

Almost as soon as the words leave Tabby’s mouth, I’m speechless.

The Tabby, owner of Tabby’s Tell All, wants me to have my column in the Pixie Postings?

When I first received a summons to the Pixie Postings headquarters, I thought they might want me to talk about my “close friendship” with Raven.

I never imagined they would want me to write for them!

Suddenly, I realize I haven’t answered her question, or closed my mouth, and Tabby is beginning to glance around uncomfortably.

Quickly, I snap my mouth shut.

“Y-yes! I would be honoured to write for the Pixie Postings!” I practically shout.

Tabby smiles widely.

Standing up, she reaches across her desk to shake my hand.

“I’m so glad to have you on my team! You can expect your welcoming pack later today.”

Later…

As soon as the local post-pixie has left, I rip open my welcoming pack.

Unexpectedly, glitter and confetti burst out of the package, spraying me and my room in bright purple and pink.

Coughing, I rub my eyes free of glitter long enough to read my letter.

Sarah

99018

Forest of Whispers 

Dear Sarah, 

Welcome to the Pixie Postings! We are very excited to have you join our team.

As our newest staff member, you will be expected to write a column introducing yourself, to be published in the next edition of the Pixie Postings.

You will need to turn in your first column by September 14, so we can review it and publish it on September 20.

Sincerely,

Pixie Postings Team Signature

The Pixie Postings Team

I’m so excited! I have so many things to write about!

Later…

“Stupid. Empty. Brain.” I say, punctuating each word with a bang of my head against my desk.

I sit up and lean back in my chair.

“Maybe if I’m relaxed, I’ll get ideas.” I say aloud, forcing myself to take deep breaths.

Ten seconds later…

“WHY CAN’T I RELAX?” I shout, pulling at my hair.

To be continued…

2 thoughts on “Side Story 6 – Part 1

  1. Love the new story, Raven! ❤ 🙂 Being a writer, a story that involves a writer as a main character is always going to grab my attention 😉
    Writer's block is the worst! It always happens to me when I'm under a tight deadline and don't really enjoy the topic I'm writing about…I totally feel for her :-/

    Liked by 2 people

Let me know what you think!

